Mar. 7, 2018

Nigerian petroleum minister to address CERAW 2018 in Houston Texas

HE Dr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu

Honorable Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Federal Republic of Nigeria

Dr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu was appointed Minister of State for Petroleum Resources of The Federal Republic of Nigeria and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) by President Muhammadu Buhari in April 2016, to represent his state of origin, Delta State, in the President’s cabinet, to oversee reform in the Nigerian oil and gas sector. In August 2015, he was appointed Group Managing Director of the NNPC. Dr. Kachikwu has served as the President of OPEC (2015), President of the Gas Exporting Countries Forum (GECF) (2016), and President of the African Petroleum Producers Association (APPA) (2016). Prior to his appointment as Group Managing Director of NNPC, he was Executive Vice Chairman of Mobil Producing Nigeria Unlimited and General Counsel for ExxonMobil Nigeria affiliate upstream and downstream companies in Nigeria. Dr. Kachikwu was appointed Executive Director of ExxonMobil Group of Companies in 2003 and he served as General Counsel and Secretary to the Board for Mobil Producing Nigeria Unlimited in 2001. Between 1992 and 2001, he served as Chairman and CEO to Flame Petroleum and Gas Company Limited, Intel & Data Consultants Limited, True Tales Publications Limited, and Beverly Cops & Security Company Limited. From 1984 to 1994, he served as General Counsel and Legal Adviser at Texaco Nigeria and Texaco Overseas Petroleum Company. In addition to previously serving as Director at the Institute of Petroleum Law at Afe Babalola University in Nigeria and as a Visiting Professor of Law to several universities, Dr. Kachikwu has worked as an investment attorney in the United States and is the author of Nigerian Foreign Investment Law and Policy. He holds titles that include Chief and Isagba of Ezechime Clan. Recent awards include a Certificate of Congressional Recognition given by the US Congress (May 2017), le Offerte par le Ministre du Pétrole, de l’Energie, et du Development des Energies Renouvelables Assises by African Petroleum Producers Organization (2017), Oil Industry Leadership Award by Petroleum Technology Association (2017), Honorary Fellowship Award conferred by The Nigerian Environmental Society (2017), Special Recognition Award by the National Association of Energy Correspondents (2017), and Oil and Gas Industry Growth Driver of the Year Award by the Institute of Credit Administration (2017). He holds a First Class degree in Law from the University of Nigeria Nsukka and Nigerian Law School; a Masters in Law and a doctorate degree from Harvard Law School, Harvard University.

Share this page